‘Beautiful Creatures’ review

Beautiful Creatures Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Ok, so really I want to give this 4.5 stars, but there is no option and as I enjoyed the book so much, I opted for the 5 star instead of the 4. Because I’m nice like that 🙂

I had no idea what this book was about when I bought it. I’d read a few reviews from friends on here that were either so-so ratings or very high ratings. I liked the sound of the book and thought, “why not?” So I bought it. Then I skimmed through and realised it was told from a male perspective. Usually, I don’t like male MCs. I find them hard to relate to, and if they’re not doing realistically (ie they sound like a very senitive teenage girl instead) then I tune out and don’t force myself to read on. Harry Potter being a very big exception.

The book started off slowly for me, but when you get to the middle/end, you realise that for the atmosphere of the book to work, and to really understand, you need to know some of the more boring aspects, and it’s best to get it out of the way, I guess.

I didn’t immediately connect with Ethan or Lena. I liked that she was your different teenage girl. Dressed differently, had a different attitude, and wasn’t afraid to say what was on her mind, but in a realistic way. I thought Ethan was a little…sappy. For a guy anyway. I loved Link and thought he was a very well developed character.

The plot was, in a nutshell, complex. A lot of questions were raised, ones that a few chapters on, would be forgotten in favour of another question. Of course, the main plot was always constant. And the book mainly dealt with that. But there was some nice development scenes thrown in too, and a real look into Southern family and the closeness of it all.

Ethan and Lana were…innocent. I wanted to feel more passion, more desire in them both. When they kissed, it was kind of flat. I like my romance to be filled with tension and longing. That was a bit of a downfall for me. But I LOVED how much Ethan sacrificed to be with Lena, and also the other way around. Unlike Twilight, both Ethan and Lena lost something for each other. They learned that love isn’t always easy. Especially when they’re so different.

Witches. What can I say? I love the whole idea of witches, having growing up watching Sabrina the Teenage Witch! Having this, along with other supernatural creatures, was definitely a bonus.

This book would have been five stars for me had the plot been a little less complex. The writing was beautiful, and the characters memorable. If someone quizzed me on character names, I’m pretty certain I’d do well. And that’s not my memory, but because of the writers doing their job. I only hope the same happens in my own work.

I thoroughly enjoyed this and will eagerly await the next book, especially with the new obstacles the couple will have to face. The guilt in Lena’s heart, and the physical issue between the two. Also, the last sentence. Wow. Cliff hanger or what! Endings usually have the problem of feeling too rushed. This wasn’t one of them, for which I appluad. I’d recommend this book to everyone.

View all my reviews >>

5 thoughts on “‘Beautiful Creatures’ review

Leave a Reply

