‘Twenty Boy Summer’ review

Twenty Boy SummerTwenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Firstly, I was wary when I picked this book up to read and then remembered what it was about. I’ve been reading a lot of books recently that deal with death and grieving. And, though it sounds bad, I was looking forward to a lighter, fluffier read. But, I had the book on the train with nothing to do and so I began reading.

We’re introduced to a trio of friends. One boy and two girls. Neighbours. Except there’s a brother and sister in there somewhere. And a hidden romance. And then…a dead boy.Which leaves two girls with one big secret looming between them – one that Anna can never let Frankie find out about. Frankie would freak if Anna found out she was dating her brother. I really didn’t know what to expect from this book. I certaintly didn’t expect what happened. I guess I thought it would be about friends grieving together and learning to let Matt go in their own ways.

Which, I guess, did happen, but in a way that – while depressing – was interesting too.

Virginity is talked a lot about in this book, and I really hoped it wouldn’t be one of those books that makes sex into a huge deal and then ends without it actually being addressed or no one having it. You spend a whole book building up to a character trying to lose their virginity only for them to decide at the end that they don’t need to. Not this book. And for that I was forever grateful.Anna kind of reminds me a lot of me when I was younger. Rather keep quiet than make a scene. Not want to steal anyones thunder, so you don’t create a drama of your own – even when you should. I didnt like the idea of twenty boys, and found Anna agreeing to it to be slightly out of character.

Frankie was extremeley well developed and even at the end, I still sympathised with her and understood her pain. She was a character who was very flawed, but with good reason. So you couldn’t help but like her. Despite the lies and immaturity.Summer holiday stories are quite hard to do in my eyes, because the scenes rarely differ nor the characters. And depending on the kind of vacation, activities can be boring.

But Ockler did this very well. I was never bored, even when the girls were doing nothing at all!So I give it four stars. Recommending to anyone who wants to read about finding yourself and helping a friend through grief.

View all my reviews >>

3 thoughts on “‘Twenty Boy Summer’ review

Leave a Reply

