‘Shadow Hills’ review

Shadow HillsShadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like a lot of stories nowadays in the YA market, this deals with the MC’s stuggle to get over the death of a loved one. In this case, it’s her older idolised sister. The last thing that Phe’s older sister wanted was to attend Devinish – an elite boarding school. So off Phe trots, hoping to find a reason to why her sister was so different before she died.

Shadow Hills deals with mythology I personally haven’t read before. I really enjoyed the concept of a town being made up of a certain type of people. It was really creepy – in a good way.One of my few problems with this book was that I felt more could have been explored and done with the supernatural points of this book. I feel like a lot of books these days are mostly focused on people’s everyday life and then occasionally they’ll be like “oh yeah, I’m a …(fill in the blank)… and I can actually lift cars with my hands” etc. But this is never really explored properly.

Phe, herself, is a strong willed and funny character. She isn’t one of those damsel in distress characters who sits there and waits to be saved. She sees a loved one in distress and can’t sit there waiting for someone else to solve it. So she sets out to do it herself. And that she does.

There’s a little mystery to be solved, which will keep you guessing if you don’t look into it too much. And characters that are well developed and have great chemistry with each other. I do wish the love between Zach and Phe would have developed slower rather than after a couple of weeks.

All in all, I’d rate 4.5 stars. I really did enjoy it. Anastasia has a strong and believable voice which kept me hooked to the end. There are supernatural subplots, a creepy boarding school, and a passionate love. Also, Anastasia doesn’t shy away from having a non-virgin main character, which I feel should be applauded.I’d recommend to anyone looking to read an original and well told paranormal romance.

View all my reviews >>

3 thoughts on “‘Shadow Hills’ review

Leave a Reply

