‘The Ghost and The Goth’ review

The Ghost and the GothThe Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I haven’t really heard much hype about this book through the blogosphere. But it was something I’d seen pop up once or twice and I liked the sound of the blurb (love ghosts). It wasn’t on my list of top books I’d buy, but I signed my name up for an ARC tour of it, and it popped into my hands on Wednesday.

The book is told in two POVs starting with the death of Alona. Alona is a beautiful, leggy blonde with adoring friends and lustful admirers. But when she dies, it’s barely any time at all before her friends are moving on and everyone begins to forget about her tragic death.
Will is an outcast who looks like a goth but isn’t actually one. He’s always been able to see ghosts, though he pretends he can’t.

Through a series of events, the pair find themselves drawn to one another. Alona needs answers and Will needs Alona’s ability to keep other ghosts from bugging him all the time. It’s a good way of getting our main characters together. Especially when, around Will, Alona can touch things without effort, including him. Loved this aspect of the book, btw.

I like that Alona is flawed and selfish and blunt. To keep herself from disappearing, she has to be positive, which is hilarious to watch. And Will, though cynical at times, is pretty interesting himself. The two together are filled with a sweet chemistry.

My few issues with the book would be the length and pacing. It all goes so quickly. Most of the book happens within a few days, and I would have liked to have seen more scenes with Alona getting used to being dead. It seemed that everything was too easy for her, and even for Will. I didn’t quite buy some of their actions, and probably would have if the book were longer.

The antagonist of the book wasn’t who I expected AT FIRST, but then it became so obvious that I couldn’t quite believe that Will wasn’t willing to believe it. I did, however, love the hospital scenes towards the end. They were kinda creepy in a weird way.

All in all, it was a compelling, light read with easy to understand characters and some laugh out loud lines. I’d recommend to anyone who likes ghosts and wants a quick, interesting book.

View all my reviews

One thought on “‘The Ghost and The Goth’ review

Leave a Reply

