‘The Cellar’ review

The CellarThe Cellar by A. J. Whitten

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn’t know what to expect from this book when I first picked it up. From the brief description, I gathered I’d probably like it (love zombies when they’re done right), but the comparison with Romeo and Juliet really threw me. I couldn’t see how it would work.

But it did work. The only thing for me that didn’t work was the switch from first person to third person. If you want other people’s perspectives, just stick to third person for the whole thing. It really did confuse me when one minute I’d be in Merideth’s head and the next, following Adrien or Heather around.

The story read very quickly, and was written well. The voice was strong, even when not in first person, and I got a sense of the characters I was around. Merideth was strong, but vulnerable, and I could see a lot of myself in her, in that she had to be strong for her family.

There were some gruesome scenes in this book. If you’re not a fan of gore or blood, I wouldn’t pick this book up. But I love that stuff. And was really pleased that Whitten didn’t shy away from describing scenes of bloodshed.

The ending was fast paced, but answered all questions I had. I don’t really have too many complaints about this story except that I would have liked a scene with Heather, properly, at the end to see how she was dealing with the aftermath.

I’d recommend this to lovers of horror. Definitely a book I won’t forget in a while!

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “‘The Cellar’ review

  1. I definitely love the Shadowspell cover and Bad Taste in Boys! I actually asked Carrie Harris what is was and she said it was sugar… I don't like when people 'plug' their site, but I have an interview with her on my blog if you would like to read it, you can find it here. 🙂

    Like

  2. My favorite cover is the cover of Ballad. But I think that's mainly because it's black with fire and I fantasize about seeing something similar on the cover of my book. 😀

    Like

  3. I really liked this book too! I devoured it in an evening bc it was so good. I agree about the 1st switching to 3rd. It' like the 2nd or 3rd book to do that lately…what's up with that? LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

