‘Unearthy’ review

I know, two reviews in one day? The beauty of being sick and being on bedrest. I get to catch up on my reading!

UnearthlyUnearthly by Cynthia Hand

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy crap.

What a book. Just when you think there wasn’t going to be a new spin on angels for a while. I’ve read a lot of Angel books recently, and save Courtney Allison Moulton’s ‘Angelfire’ there hasn’t been much that’s made me think ‘wow, that’s different’. Until now.

Unearthly has to be my new favourite book this year (though technically it comes out next year). Clara is a hugely likeable character who is strong, yet vulnerable, and funny, yet sarcastic. She’s sweet and I found myself really warming to her character.

Hand potrayed Clara’s family life really well in this novel. How it can go from being strong and the most important thing, to rocky and distant. It was realistic, and I felt how Clara felt in terms of emotions. I especially liked how perfect yet flawed her mother was.

Plus, there are two HOT love interests in this novel. Christian – the boy Clara should be thinking about. And Tucker – the boy Clara hates to think about. For a lot of the book, I literally did not know who Clara would end up with. Even at the end, I didn’t know. Especially with the revelation at the end.

There are a lot of questions raised in this novel that were not answered. Which leads me to happily believe there is a sequel planned? There needs to be one anyway.

One negative: Did the horse have to be left behind? Really?

The writing was beautiful, the description vivid. Hand included small things that really made the story pop to life. Such as Clara’s failed attempts at dying her hair – the result being an hilarious orange.

Plus it was refreshing to see the supernatural girl and the human boyfriend. It was done really, really well. This was one of those books where I could not stop reading. I had to know more. I had to find out everything I could behind Clara’s powers. And they were pretty cool too!

Definitely five stars. I’d recommend to any paranormal romance lovers, without the fear of creepy stalker guys or overdone elements. This puts a new spin on all things old, and was such an enjoyable read.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “‘Unearthy’ review

  1. I just got this ARC from my bookstore this week and it looks divine!!! The cover alone is breathtaking… first I have to read The Near Witch (another aweosme one!)

    I love yoru blog… it's super cute! I hope you stop by and say hi at my blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

