‘The Lying Game’ review

Just a quick note to say thank you to everyone who has joined my 100 follower giveaway! I am blown away by the interest it has received so quickly 🙂

The Lying GameThe Lying Game by Sara Shepard

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Though I haven’t read the books, I’m a huge fan of the Pretty Little Liars series. It’s one of my favourite shows on TV right now. So when I heard that Sara Shepard was going to be creating another series, I knew I had to read it. And then I found out it had been optioned for a TV series! I definitely needed to read it.

So when I was offered the chance to read an ARC of the first in the series, I jumped at it. And I wasn’t disappointed. I have to admit, one of my guilty pleasures are twin swaps. Parent Trap, It Takes Two, Wish Upon A Star etc. This book sounded right up my alley. And it was.

Emma is an interesting character. Though I feel she makes some silly choices and doesn’t question some pretty big issues. But she’s real, and she’s naive, but brave. It’s not usual that one twin would put herself at risk to solve her twin’s maybe death.

Ethan is also an interesting character. Mysterious, good looking, broody. Makes for a very swoon-worthy love interest. But then there’s a question mark behind him – not that he’s the only one. I think that’s what makes the book so interesting. One page I think one character killed Sutton. The next page I think it’s someone else. By the end of the book, we still don’t know who did it. Which means I’ll definitely be buying the next book.

Sara Shepard has to be commended on her use of description. Sometimes in YA books, description is left behind in favour of plot. But this book included both. Most of the time I felt as if I was in the book with the characters. I could picture everything perfectly. And while there were lots of characters, I remembered each one perfectly because of the description of each. Though we didn’t spend a lot of time with each, parts of their personalities were apparent straight away, but also they seemed kind of stereotypical. The bitchy friends with the ulterior motives to stay on the good side of the queen bitch.

Though I didn’t understand the purpose of The Lying Game, it was a unique twist on the story. I only hope we learn more in the next book.

I’d recommend to anyone who likes bitchy girl characters, mystery and a bit of romance on the side. 4 stars.

View all my reviews

One thought on “‘The Lying Game’ review

Leave a Reply

