Five Favourite Reads of 2010

This has been floating around the blogosphere over the past few days and I thought I’d jump in on this. This doesn’t necessarily mean the book debuted in 2010, just that I read it in 2010.

So, in no particular order, I give you…

5) Before I Fall – Lauren Oliver
This one is a book that will forever stick in my mind. It could have fallen into that gimmicky category, but it didn’t. It was beautifully written, the characters were real and raw, and the storyline was interesting and deep. Considering we repeated the same day seven times, I never once got bored and it was amazing just how much we learned about the characters through this time. Oliver is a genius for creating such a masterpiece.

4) Stolen – Lucy Christopher
For some reason, I like to read about characters who get kidnapped or are in impossibly horrible situations but end up with some kind of happy ending. This book was everything. Written in second person in a style of a letter to her kidnapper. It goes into a realisitc portrayal of a kidnap where the MC starts to grow feelings for her captor. The ending was bittersweet and while reading, you know that the captor is wrong, but you can’t help but like him anyway.

3) Forget You – Jenifer Echols
I am really getting into my contemporary YA stories recently, and this book is one of the reasons why. It realistically portrayed teenagers of today without making them seem like sex driven, shallow maniacs. The characters were different from the normal stereotypes and the plot was interesting too. A girl on a mission to find out what happened to her the night she crashed her car. The chemistry between her and Doug was sizzling.

2) The Dark Divine – Bree Despain
There is a scene in this book that I think of whenever I look at my bookshelf and happen to catch the spine of this book. And that is the scene where the MC’s baby brother goes missing. That scene will stick in my head for a good long while. Incredibly written, as was the whole book, and with a cast of characters that made you root for them, even when they didn’t always deserve it. Yes, at the end, there was a huge plot hole and I saw the twist coming, but it didn’t stop me from enjoying the book no less. Loved the pastor’s daughter aspect of the novel too. Can’t wait to read the next in the series.

1) Unearthly – Cynthia Hand
This is the only book I’ve put in order of how much I’ve enjoyed. Definitely my favourite book I’ve read this year. I don’t want to say too much because it hasn’t been released yet, but it has a little bit of everything. A kick-ass powerful MC, a saucy love triangle, supportive best friends, a dark secret, a twist, mystery. Best of all, in my opinion, was the setting. I absolutely adored how Hand portrayed the setting and all the things the MC got up to in it. The setting was just as much part of the plot as the plot line itself! I couldn’t put this book down, and when I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it. Definitely sits on my list of fav books this year.

How about you guys? What were your top five?

2 thoughts on “Five Favourite Reads of 2010

  1. I haven't read Before I Fall yet but I'm definitely going to!

    My Favorite books are (in no particular order):

    Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead
    Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
    Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles
    Willow by Julia Hoban
    Nevermore by Kelly Creagh

    I also read Forget You and loved it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

