‘My Soul to Steal’ review

My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers, #4)My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Unlike with a lot of series out there, the Soul Stealers series keeps getting better with each book. I find myself warming more and more to the characters, and while I wasn’t too big of a fan of the Addy book (probably because it took Tod away from the love triangle I wanted to happen), I still find myself loving the series more with every book I read.

This one, in particular, has to be my favourite so far. Though there was a lot of supernatural elements to keep the plot moving, my main interest in this book lay in the love triangle between Nash, Kaylee and Sabine. And Sabine…what a character. She was the kind of girl that made you want to slap her one minute, and hug her the next. Though I didn’t want her to get with Nash, I couldn’t help but understand her.

Tod was as charming as ever in this book. He shone through, though his advice to Kaylee towards the end regarding Nash made me want to punch him. Which is weird, because before this book, I was never really a huge Kaylee/Nash fan. I guess you can only appreciate something once it’s gone. I really felt for Kaylee’s predicament. Wanting the time to heal, but feeling rushed because someone else is in the picture and could take him away.

I only wish that the bad guy (Alaric I think?) wasn’t so cartoonishly evil. He even had me rolling my eyes sometimes at the things he said and did. I feel like there’s no depth to his character as the villian of the story and is just there to keep the series moving. I would just as happily accept a new Reaper drama including a new bad guy over the normal Hellion.

Aplause to Vincent for still keeping her readers interested and learning so far into a series. Bravo for her keeping her characters going and for keeping things interesting – emotionally and developmentally wise. 4.5 stars.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “‘My Soul to Steal’ review

  1. I love the cover and can't wait to read the book except I have no idea when will it happen since I just run out of money 😦
    Thanks for the review though, it's great 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

