‘The Locket’ review

The LocketThe Locket by Stacey Jay

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m probably a little bit biased because I think that not only is Stacey Jay extremely talented and very modest about said talent, but she’s also a lovely person too. So when she gave me an ARC for review, I knew I was going to enjoy reading it. Though it is completely different in the characters, theme and atmosphere of ‘You’re so Undead to me’ it was still written just as well, if not better.
I didn’t know what to expect, really, from The Locket. In a way, I thought it would be pretty light hearted, about a girl who gets to rewind time with the help of a trinket. Not the most original idea, but still sounded interesting enough. And then I started reading.

Right from the beginning, I was hooked. My only issue was that because we’re first seeing Isaac – the boyfriend – in a bad perspective, I can’t help but see him that way for the rest of the book. I picture him angry and aggressive and no matter how sweet he sometimes is, or that Katie – the MC – loves him, I don’t warm to him and I don’t like him. But I do like Mitch. And I like him more and more as the book goes on, even if I don’t have that swoon attraction to him.
The book has some dark themes. The ending, most notably, did not go the way I’d assumed it would go – and I was very thankful for that. Jay had taken a plot that could have been very Disney and made it her own. I found myself assessing characters dialogue, trying to solve the mystery that comes up about half way through. And then, at the end, I had no idea what was going to happen. It also had very fleshed out characters and a realistic portrayal of high school.

My main concern about the book is Katie. She’s a sweet girl. Doesn’t like the limelight, isn’t afraid to be silly and cute, and is aware that though she isn’t beautiful, she’s pretty and that’s fine. She also takes responsibility for her actions and understands that each time she rewinds time and something bad happens when it didn’t before, it’s her fault. However, she is incredibly reliant on her boyfriend, and becomes a bit of a weak lead in the sense that everything she does, she does to keep Isaac happy. They argue and she will give in because she doesn’t want to lose him. She won’t complain when he ditches her and accepts she comes second to basketball. She forgets about her friends in favour of him. But she does learn that her behaviour is not good towards the end, and finally makes the right decision.

This was a book about growth and lessons you learn the hard way. This was a book that kept me on my toes, kept me reading and interested, kept me guessing and trying to figure out the ending. This was a book that took me on a ride with its characters, with its ups and downs, and when it stopped, I was satisfied. I’m glad that Katie learned a lesson because it was definitely the right lesson to learn. 4.5 stars.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “‘The Locket’ review

Leave a Reply

