‘Shadowspell’ review

Shadowspell (Faeriewalker, #2)Shadowspell by Jenna Black

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I think I liked this one better than the first. I waited a day or so to write the review up for this because I still wasn’t 100% sure on my full opinion. It’s a little clearer now, but not much.

In this book, it takes place straight after the last one ended (pretty much so anyway). Dana is giving Ethan another chance and they’re on a not so innoncent date (followed by hottie Finn). This is the first instance we get to see exactly how confused Dana is about what she wants. In fact, Dana is a very confused character. She wants Ethan but she doesn’t trust him. Yet she’s prepared to make a huge sacrifice for him, even though she hasn’t known him all that long. The one thing I did like about Dana except her extreme naivity, was how strong and opinionated she was. I love opioniated characters, not ones who sit there and think witty things they never say. Dana was definitely strong minded, and I was glad on more than a few occasions when she said what we were all thinking, especially when she’d remind certain people of the truth.

There were a few things in this novel that bothered me, though. Firstly, for a book about the Fae and magic, I didn’t see much of it. A few trinkets, a few mentions of it, and not enough USE of it. I didn’t really learn more about magic this book around and didn’t feel like I got much background development. In fact, I felt like this book was just a filler for what’s to come. This could have been a spin off with the same characters but faced with a new storyline because the big threat of the last book (both Queen’s wanting Dana dead) wasn’t addressed properly, and aunt Grace was thrown in as almost an afterthought at the end.

The second thing that bothered me was The Erlking. Now, let me get one thing straight. I’m not a prude, nor do I get weird about a lot of things. But The Erlking just plan creeped me out. I could see what Black was trying to do by making him more sympathetic and handsome so we as the readers would warm to him and not be so repulsed when his offer came to light, but I couldn’t help it. I was disgusted. I felt like he was a dirty old man preying on a small child. Offering her candy behind the bike shed so he could coax her into his car. It was awful and I hated it so badly.

What I did like, though, was that Ethan was made to join the Hunt and that there is now a follow on issue for the third book. This book did set up the third book nicely, I just wish it had tied more into the first one.

Also, more Keane! Please? His character stayed consistent and developed at the same time. His true feelings started to become apparent. I just hope Dana doesn’t lead him on. That might make me dislike her 🙂

All in all, it was an enthralling read. Though horrified, I had to read on to find out what would happen, and I’ll definitely be buying the next book to see how it ends. I recommend to fairy lovers and paranormal lovers out there who want a bit of maturity in their YA. 4 stars.

View all my reviews

One thought on “‘Shadowspell’ review

Leave a Reply

