‘The Body Finder’ review

The Body Finder (The Body Finder, #1)The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow, what can I say about this book? A hot romance mixed along with awkward high school experiences and a thrilling murder suspense. It’s basically everything in a book that I look for!

The beginning was a little slow for me. I did enjoy reading about Violet’s first body she uncovered, but I was more eager to get into the story itself, find out how we discover a serial killer is on the loose. The backstory slowed the plot down and put me off the book slightly. When I took a break during the first chapter, I didn’t pick it up again for a day.

But then I did and I fell in love with Jay and I empthaised with Violet. She’s been the only main character in a long time that I didn’t have any kind of negative feeling towards. And not because she was a Mary-Sue. Violet definitely had her flaws (she was stubborn, and kinda naive, and a little miserable sometimes), but she was also very real and very brave. I admired her – especially having a gift like she did.

Had this have been a contemporary novel based just on the ‘will they, won’t they’ relationship between Jay and Violet – I’d have been happy. But to have the suspense and paranormal aspect thrown in? I was thrilled. Every page I turned had me wanting more, and now I’m so eager for the sequel to come out. I need to know more. I need to be in that world a little longer.

The story is told in third person, and every now and again you get the perspective of the serial killer. Which actually added to the story and was very entertaining to read – but not in a funny way. I found myself trying to pick out clues in his POV and figure out who the killer was for myself. I did figure it out, kind of, but was thrown at the twist. I think had that small scene been taken out, I wouldn’t have had a clue who the killer was.

The scences between Jay and Violet were steamy. So much so, that sometimes I felt like I had just walked in on them kissing and was slightly embarrassed. It’s narrated so realistically and with such raw truth that it had me feeling like these characters were alive.

I did have a few downsides to the novel, but not enough to stop me enjoying it. I felt that Violet’s appearance was left until very late to be described. In fact, we were only given very few descriptions of anybody, and I found it hard to picture the characters. But their actions were very well described.

I also found Violet’s female friends really annoying to read about and very unoriginal. You have the ditzy one, the talkative one, the tomboy one, and the snarky, loud mouth one. There wasn’t really any redeeming qualities about any of them, and I felt they were only there to provide Violet with something to do when she wasn’t spending time with Jay.

The last negative is the setting of the conclusion. It’s ALWAYS at some kind of dance (homecoming, prom, winter formal etc). I would have loved for the conclusion of the story to have been in a different setting, though what actually happened was perfect for the story and had me at the edge of my seat. I’d have much preferred if it wasn’t a dance. I’d have been happy if they were at a game instead! Just not the dreaded dance.

Anyway, this series has fastly made its way onto my favourites list, and I’m very exicted to see what Derting comes up with next. 5 stars.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “‘The Body Finder’ review

  1. A great review for a great book. I've read Desires of the Dead too, it was great, and I did a review on my blog a while back (nothing as detailed as your fab reviews!! You know me, I find it hard to be serious long enough to do a proper review. LOL.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

