‘Night Star’ review

Night Star (The Immortals, #5)Night Star by Alyson Noel

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have to say that Night Star improved dramatically from the previous books in the series. There is something about Noel’s writing that has me hooked to the book. No matter what’s actually going on. She could be writing about paint drying, and I’d be glued to the page. Ever’s voice rings out clearly, realistically, and interestingly.

For some reason, I thought this was the last book in the series. It SHOULD have been the last book in the series anyway. I feel as if this whole series has been dragged out way longer than it should have been for the sake of, what, more books? It’s not for the story because at the end of each book we’re being thrown a new plot line in order to keep the series going. The only remaining plot line that stretches between books two, three, four and now five is that Ever and Damen can’t touch each other.

I think by now, a lot of people are only sticking with this series to find out if the couple will ever be thrown a line and ever allowed to sleep with each other. Though they manage to kiss and touch with a little help from Damens shield, it’s not the same. And how can they last a thousand lifetimes based on just that?

This book was a lot more consice than the others. There wasn’t as many random scenes in this book as before, and while there were still ridicously long sentences that had my eyes crossing, it didn’t take long to get through this book and everything seemed to have a purpose, although some scenes and plot lines you could tell were fabricated unnaturally to keep the plot moving.

I will keep reading to see how the series ends. I was frustrated less by this book than the others, though not to say that I wasn’t frustrated quite a bit! You keep building up to these big Haven/Ever show downs only to be bored to tears with long dialogue and italics. I did appreciate the ending and was glad not everything gets solved with manifested tulips.

4 stars for this one because it did keep me entertained, and while I didn’t thoroughly believe the motivations behind Ever and Damens rocky patch, I appreciated that reading a whole book full of their lovey dovey moments would be kinda boring. This was the smallest, tightest written book in the series. Kind of makes me wonder if Noel’s heart is still in it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

