‘Hereafter’ review

Hereafter (Hereafter, #1)Hereafter by Tara Hudson

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

A very original spin on the whole ‘forbidden love’ plot. Hereafter is a story about love, mystery, paranormal and finding yourself.

I didn’t know what to expect when I first picked up Hereafter. I had a feeling it was about a ghost girl, and for some reason, I thought it would be told from a male POV as he falls in love with a ghost. But I was wrong. From the first chapter, I was pulled into the beautifully written and well described tale. The book starts with a bit of action, and instantly I was intrigued. Who was the girl? How did she die? And who was he?

Joshua is a breath of fresh air from a lot of male love interests in literature these days. While handsome with a nice body (of course), he is also sensitive, yet doesn’t let Amelia walk all over him and act like a huge girl. He is willing to take a chance and lay his heart on the line. It is very hard not to love Joshua.

As for Amelia – I think she is written extremely realistically for someone in her position. And though I didn’t want it to happen (for the plots sake), I spent the whole book hoping that somehow she would come back from the dead and everything would be okay. I enjoyed spending time in Amelia’s head, and my heart broke more than once when things about her past started to become clearer.

Hereafter was filled with beautiful descriptions and a cast full of well developed and thought out characters. I was never left confused on something I’d just read, and each character had a concrete image in my mind, down to the way they held themselves, to the way they looked.

Primarily, this was a love story. I had a slight issue in that I was almost half way through the book before a plot started to become visible. At first, I thought the story would literally be about Amelia growing feelings for an alive boy when she herself is dead. And while it was sweet to read about, the romance wasn’t nearly sizzling enough to have held my attention for a whole book. So when the plot finally began to show itself, I was excited. Seers and evil ghosts? Awesome!

Only, not quite. Both the seer and the evil ghost were incredibly entertaining (in the readable sense, not funny sense) and developed. They both had their own agendas and own personalities. But their motivations fell a little flat for me. Joahua’s grandmother, for example, was so set on Amelia being evil and yet there was no evidence of her actively trying to keep Joshua and Amelia apart. It was as if she wasn’t as motivated as we were told she was – otherwise would you allow your grandson to date a ghost? Wouldn’t you try everything in your power to get him to forget about the dead girl?

All in all, I give this 4.5 stars. I thoroughly did enjoy it and I will be long awaiting the sequel. I recommend to anyone who likes a good romance.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “‘Hereafter’ review

  1. You're so not alone. I spent the majority of the book thinking up ways in which Amelia could come back to life, just so she and Joshua could be together. And, this is the first in a trilogy…so I'm uber-curious to see how Hudson pulls it all together.

    sidenote: my word verification is MATING…hmm…coincidence? i think not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

