‘Starcrossed’ review

Starcrossed (Starcrossed, #1)Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

The first thing I think when I look back at reading this book was how LONG it seemed to be. And this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Or a good thing. It just seemed a lot longer than it was. Maybe because so much happened. But I found myself checking the page numbers frequently and thinking ‘Wow, I still have so much to go’.

There was a lot to love about Starcrossed. Like a lot of books in the paranormal genre, it features a flawed yet loveable heroine who falls for a hunky, mysterious guy who may or may not be hiding something from her, and an enemy who could screw everything up. But unlike those books, Starcrossed felt different. As if the plot events were completely unique and never done before.

Helen (hate the name SOOO MUCH, but understand why it was used) is a Scion. She doesn’t know it, but she’s the last of her house. The problem with the beginning few chapters is that the way Helen describes herself does not lend to a pretty image. She’s tall. She slouches. She shies away from attention. She has long blonde hair she does nothing with. And yet, we’re later told she’s referred to as ‘Heavenly Hamilton’, which I personally could not get my head around. She also mentions shes used to people staring at her, but because it’s not elaborated, I’m left to assume it’s because she’s tall, especially compared to her BFF who is only 5’2. So yes, I find it really unrealistic and frankly a little annoying when females are really that clueless that they’re pretty.

Generally, I liked Helen. I can’t really tell you why though. She didn’t have any real positive traits. She was moody, she used her friends as emotional punching bags, she was hot headed, quick to make assumptions, she wouldn’t stand up for herself, and she didn’t want to fight – even to protect the people trying to protect her. Oh, and she was always willing to run away from the problem rather than stand and face up to them. And yet, she didn’t make me want to tear my eyes out reading about her. The only huge thing I disliked about her was how willing TWICE she was to run away and leave her human father behind, clueless and alone. It wasn’t even to protect him. It was all for Helen’s selfish gain.

However, where there is Helen, there is also Lucas. Aaah…Lucas. He has to be one of my favourite love interests in a paranormal novel so far. He is handsome, and described so – not just told to us, and he’s brave, and protective, and selfless and strong. I need my very own Lucas. He was also very realistic of a teenage boy, no matter what he was.

Sometimes the plot could get confusing. There was a lot to deal with, especially for someone – like me – who isn’t familiar with Greek terminology. And although it is explained, that plus all the characters we’re learning about, plus learning about the enemies, plus learning backstory, plus learning what Helen actually is and what she can do was a little overwhelming. I felt like some of the explanations could have been left to another book. And though the end was tied into the beginning, it still felt like two different book plots thrown into one.

I did like the way the book ended and I wonder how the lie will be dealt with in the sequel – if dealt with at all. I was also glad that Angelini didn’t do a Meyers and have everyone survive in battle. There is going to be some hard times to come in the following books. The novel itself never felt boring. There was always something going on, and I really liked the setting too. Nantucket sounds like a great place.

One more thing I didn’t like was all the POV switches in the middle of a scene. I was always taught to keep a scene in one person’s POV only. Not to keep switching and changing between different character mindsets. This was pretty confusing when it happened, but it seemed to only happen towards the end.

I give this 4.5 stars out of 5. Recommend it to anyone who wants a good paranormal read with a very interesting romance.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

