‘Mercy’ review

Mercy (Mercy, #1)Mercy by Rebecca Lim

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was another of those books I went into reading without reading the blurb first, so I was a little confused as to the plot of the story. But then once I did look up the blurb, I had no idea what the story was going to be about anyway and having finished it, I’m still not sure what the story is primarily about.

There is a lot to like about this book. It focuses on a group of girls who sing travelling with their school to a new town where they will be singing in the choir with other schools around that area. The setting is described fantastically. You can almost feel how boring and dusty the town is. I instantly felt sorry for anyone having to call that place their home.

Straight away, we know our main character is otherwordly. But we’re not sure what because she’s not sure. Whatever she is, she’s doomed to wake up in someone’s body co-existing with them for a small amount of time before having to repeat this again. Though she is unsure of why or what she is, she can do a few tricks – sense things about people, look through memories at a touch, and imitate people’s voices. But she’s stuck in the scrawny body of Carmen who is a fantastic singer despite Carmen’s own insecurities.

One of the best things about this novel is Ryan. Having lost his sister to abduction, he’s amazingly haunted, flawed, gorgeous, and mysterious. He definitely was a huge pro to this book. I wanted every scene to include him. I wanted mass amounts of romance with him and I wanted to get to know more about him. I was disappointed when this didn’t happen. Because of one of the other best things about this novel… the mystery.

Mercy/Carmen and Ryan work together to try and find his sister. Watching them follow leads and bond over being the last two people in town to think his sister is alive was thrilling. Following them through dead ends and new leads was also very interesting and realistic. But it left no time for this romance I was so desperate to see.

There were a few negatives of this book too, however. The narration was incredibly jumbled and hard to follow. I’m not sure what the main idea behind having such a disjoined narration was, but half the time, I had no idea what I was reading. I found myself having to go back and reread almost half of the time. And though the dialogue and description was fantastic, the narration style really let the book down.

One of my other major gripes with this story was that I was left feeling more confused than when I went in. You STILL don’t know what Mercy is. You STILL have no idea what her dreams mean, or who is involved. It seems as if the side plot – the abduction – was the only thing tied up. And though I get the need to have some questions open for the sequel, I was given nothing to help quench my need for answers. And I’m kinda peeved that the main point to this book series took such a backseat. It also felt that the book just…ended. I expected to turn the page and there be another chapter, but there was nothing. It left me feeling very unimpressed.

So all in all, I give this a 4 stars. The mystery definitely saved this novel. Without the abduction, the story wouldn’t have been enjoyable.

View all my reviews

One thought on “‘Mercy’ review

Leave a Reply

