‘Bad Taste in Boys’ review

Bad Taste in BoysBad Taste in Boys by Carrie Harris

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*Very annoying, Goodreads, that I typed up my review days ago and you choose not to save it*

Bad Taste in Boys was one of those books I was REALLY looking forward to. I had high hopes for it. I mean, look at that cover! Not to say that great books and great covers are always hand in hand, but the cover of this novel has to go down in my top favourite covers of ALL TIME. Seriously. Once I saw that cover, I had to know what the book was about. It just sealed me needing to read it even more. Zombies? Awesome!!

Except the book wasn’t due out for months. I was sad. I emailed Carrie to talk to her and gush about how excited I was for the release, and she was so sweet. She said my gushing made her day! Even though she’d made mine just by answering my email.

Anyway, not long after that I landed myself an ARC of the book. I was nervous/excited to see the book in my hand. What if I read it and didn’t like it? What if it was a huge let down? I never usually allow myself to get excited about books.

But I started reading and…

I really, really enjoyed it. It wasn’t what I expected, but that was okay because what it actually was, was very enjoyable and entertaining. A light read to brighten up a dull journey to and from work.

The book follows self confessed nerd, Kate, as she crushes on a hot football player and tries to build up her college application by helping out the football team with medical problems. She accepts that she is not the prettiest of girls, but still manages to find happiness in herself. Those types of girls, I think, are the best kind for young ladies to read about.

I hoped this book would take a more serious approach to a virus turning people into zombies. And, wow, were there some sickening and gorey scenes!! Scenes, I loved, by the way. But the tone of the book was very light and humourous. Kate and her brother run over their zombie coach, and neither of them are remarkably freaked out by it. Or the severed foot they end up taking home.

But, in a weird way, this added to the likeability of Kate and the story itself. I think maybe if it were more serious, the readers would probably be a lot more freaked out at this book. There would be implications that would have to be addressed otherwise. And that would just take the book into a place it doesn’t need to be.

There was a hot love interest, and while the romance between Kate and him wasn’t sizzling, it was sweet and very realistic of your first high school love. All the supporting characters were well developed too. I especially liked Kate’s younger brother. It was refreshing to see such a normal sibling relationship that wasn’t the sole plot point of the book.

All in all, I really did enjoy this book. The zombie virus was gross, but so, so cool and the characters were realistically done and very entertaining to read about. I would recommend to zombie lovers who aren’t afraid of a little gore, and who like light reads.

View all my reviews

12 thoughts on “‘Bad Taste in Boys’ review

  1. Another great review! I'll be honest, when I saw the title I hopped over to see if my wife had finally written her memoir. 🙂

    This sounds a bit like Zombieland. Freaky but funny. Lightehearted but gory. Might have to check it out!

    Like

  2. “I think maybe if it were more serious, the readers would probably be a lot more freaked out at this book.” This was similar to the tack I took writing one of my books, some years back. I'm not sure how successfully I adopted it–I'd be dubious it comes anywhere close to this!–but it was definitely a consideration for tone.

    I'm adding this to my TBR list immediately! I love the place(s) where horror creatures and light-heartedness intersect.

    Like

  3. I'm so glad I read your review. I've been on the fence with this one. I'm really glad there's gore in it. You can't have zombies without it. Sounds fantastic!

    Like

  4. Okay, so this book TOTALLY sounds like fun. I have not yet read a zombie book, but I think this book might have the right balance of humor and gore that I prefer in my zombie movies (Dead Snow, Shaun of the Dead, Zombieland, etc).

    Can't wait to check this one out. Great review. Thanks!

    Like

  5. grrrrrrrr, left a post and it didn't take.

    Okay, again. This book sounds REALLY good. I have not yet read a zombie book, but this one sounds like it has the perfect balance of humor and gore that i lOVE in my zombie movies (Shaun of the Dead, Zombieland).

    Great interview, Chan!

    I look forward to the release of this book.

    Like

  6. Grrrrr…okay. I couldn't figure out why my post didn't go through TWICE. But, a couple of months ago, I got knocked out of the blogger system and have had to re-follow everyone and didn't realize I didn't re-follow your blog.

    Okay, so, now that we have that settled, let's try this again.

    This book sounds REALLY good. I haven't yet read any zombie books, but this sounds like a good balance of humor and gore that i like in my zombie movies (Zombieland, Shaun of the Dead).

    Great Interview, can't wait for the release of this book!

    Like

  7. I cannot wait for this. I've been following Carrie Harris's blog for a while and she is seriously funny – in the twisted kind of way that I like best.

    Thanks for reviewing Bad Taste in Boys, it's good to know that you liked it.

    Like

  8. I've been really looking forward to reading this book due to the amazing cover and title so I'm so happy to hear that it's good. Thanks for the great review! 🙂

    Like

  9. I am new to the Zombie world, * whispers* they used to scare me.
    Rusty Fischer got me started, well I was kinda reading them in Carrie Ryan series The Forest of Hands and Teeth,but they were the scarey ones, IM looking forward to the lighter read ones. Hubby maked me watch Zombieland…and well that was hilarious once you got past fist 4 mins of opening gore…Im an epic fail at Cardio Rule number 1. Im glad you got yourself an Arc, well done. I have found there is an art to getting an Arc..hee..hee.

    Great review.

    Michelle A.

    Like

  10. Awesome review! This sounds like such a great read. I love the combination of humour + gorey zombified scenes. I haven't read that many zombie books nor have I watched many movies, but I am so excited to get my hands on this. Your review has possibly even increased that excitement! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

