‘Carrier of the Mark’ review

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of the best paranormal romances I have read in a long time. Fallon manages to provide, not only a new location and country setting, but a different kind of paranormal aspect. Gone are the vampires and werewolves and fairies. What we have here are four people in the whole world who can control the elements. How cool is that?

I have to admit, I actually didn’t think this story was going to be anything like what it turned out to be. I imagined it to be set in a past time and very heavy and reliant on Irish culture and references. But it wasn’t. It was modern day and while it was set in Ireland, giving us some beautiful backdrops and scenery, the novel could actually have taken place anywhere as the Irish culture, which incorporated, was not the main aspect of the novel. It was a bonus.

The main character, Megan, is a nice enough girl. She takes friendship seriously and consistently feels bad for keeping secrets from her best friend in order to keep her safe. I very much enjoyed that while Megan was going through a whirlwind HOT romance, she still made time for her friend and was there when her friend needed her. Though there was a few times I wanted to slap Megan for wanting to blow out plans to be with her boyfriend instead. But that is a personal preference that I have in people – it has nothing to do with the book.

Fallon has a way of writing that makes you feel directly there in the book, in the scene, watching it all happen in front of you. The plot was developed well, and the chemistry between Megan and Adam was realistic, if not a little fast. But whirlwind romances do happen, and the way it was described in this novel was very reminiscent of how some teens do act at that age. The whole ‘you are my life’ mentality, even though they have only known each other a few months.

The scenes where the family are showing what they can do with the elements are by far my favourite. I was hungry for more! I very much enjoyed watching their relationships play out via their gifts and it was sweet to see how they were with one another. I only wish there had been more scenes of their powers being used as opposed to some others. And while this novel was wrapped up nicely, there is enough plot points left open to have you needing to read the second part when it comes out.

The Irish names are a bit of a mouthful at first, but you do get used to them and it helps when Megan says them phonetically too. I do have a feeling that when this book is released, you will get the reviews comparing it to Twilight. This is only because of the family dynamic and the new girl moving to town and being taken in by that family as one of their own. However, Megan is not Bella and there is actually a plot to COTM.

All in all, I very much enjoyed this. I think it will appeal to a lot of paranormal romance lovers and the relationship between Adam and Megan is sweet and sizzling at the same time. 5 Stars.

2 thoughts on “‘Carrier of the Mark’ review

  1. Oh my God. I love your review! It made me more excited! I need to push Carrier of the Mark a couple of notches up my wishlist because based on your review, it sounds absolutely amazing! Thanks for posting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

