‘If I Die’ review

If I Die (Soul Screamers, #5)If I Die by Rachel Vincent

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow. That’s all I can say. I think this book was my favourite of the series because there are things – which I won’t spoil – that happen and I was like THANK GOD FOR THAT. Seriously. I tore through most of this book in a couple of hours and could not get enough.

Kaylee remains a consistently strong character while she fights for whats right, even when dealing with her own impending death. All of our favourite characters remain, and I think what I liked most about this book was while Averi was still very much a thought in the back of Kaylee’s head, he wasn’t the main plot of this story nor the antagonist. There was so much in this novel that reminded me why I love this series. I commend Vincent.

While our favourite cast of characters are still themselves, they grow and develop further and make mistakes that show that they are human (or nearly human, anyway!) What I have to keep reminding myself is that they are 16 and this series takes place within one school year. This is quite rare in a series. My favourite characters remain and always will be Kaylee and Todd. The ending will hurt others but please the rest. I’m not going to say which category I fall under.

I can say though that the next book is going to be ON FIRE. Seriously. The way this one ended paves a dramatic arc of plots that could happen in the rest of the series. Tell me there’s more. There is more, right?

Oh and Todd? HOTTER THAN EVER. And I actually began to like Sabine in this book too, which is definitely saying something.

I feel like I can’t properly review this book without spoiling things so I’m not going to say anything else until after the book has been released. Watch this space!

Fans of this series WILL NOT be disappointed.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

