‘The Pledge’ review

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Pledge was a story that started off disappointing me, but then as I got to the middle/end parts, I couldn’t put it down.

Set in a distant future, countries have gone back to royalty to lead, and each royal family has a bit of magic that allows them to keep the throne – well the women do anyway. Citizens are split into class; and each class has a language aswell as Englaise which is universal. Charlie, a vendor, has a strange talent – she can understand all languages.

There isn’t much I can say about Charlie. She wasn’t a character that really stood out for me. I suppose she was very responsible and loyal. Very protective of her sister. But as far as main characters, she was really boring. I didn’t like her, but I didn’t dislike her either. When her friend is so obviously acting like a completely crappy friend, Charlie has some thoughts about it and says nothing. She only ever stands up for herself to Max; but with that I think it was to add some tension to their romance.

In fact, every scene with Max in it was great. By far my favourite scenes. He was a great love interest, though his motives weren’t always clear. I didn’t understand why he liked Charlie at all. But their chemistry was undeniably hot and very interesting to watch. I kind of wish this had been Max’s story and not Charlie’s.

Overall it was a good story, not a great one. The change from first POV to third POV was a little jarring at times. And this doesn’t hold a candle to Derting’s Echos series. But I recommend to all dystopian lovers out there.

One thought on “‘The Pledge’ review

  1. I thought The Pledge was stunning! Max is definitely a great character/love interest. Most of all, I really liked the idea of using language as the focus of the society. That stood out to me like Lauren Oliver's use of love in her dystopian world. Glad you liked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

