Movie Review: Knowing

The Knowing

Once again, I’m a latecomer with another film. I didn’t expect to like this film all that much, and while I didn’t LOVE it, I definitely liked it enough to want to blog about it. Even if Nicholas Cage was a little bit creepy (not sure if that was how his character was supposed to be portrayed but whatevs).
The film is about a widowed man who has to take care of his son. He’s a bit strange, and not as attentive to his son as he could be, but he means well. At his son’s school, they dig up a capsule buried 50 years before. In it is a page filled with numbers. They happen to be the dates, locations and number of causalities of disasters around the world, and there’s a few future dates that could possibly be stopped.
I have to say, I didn’t start becoming a fan of this film until the airplane scene (see picture above). It was riveting and so very poignant. Watching as that plane came crashing down and then all the people on fire… it was horrifying in a ‘can’t look away’ kind of way. I liked that the film didn’t hold back on death. It didn’t shy away from gore and loss. There’s another scene at a subway station that was just as riveting, but for some reason I can’t get the airplane scene out of my head.
As you find in a lot of disaster movies, there was some over acting. Sometimes I wanted to roll my eyes. And other times the reactions weren’t strong enough. I didn’t particularly like the route the film took with those weird white haired men and the children either. I found that a bit hard to swallow, although I’m not sure why.
Overall, I give this film 4 out of 5 stars. Not perfect but quite interesting to watch. How about you guys? Anyone seen it?
Amazon UK are selling it for under £4 and Amazon US for under $9! Definitely think about purchasing if you haven’t seen already.
Leave a Reply

