‘Incarnate’ review

Incarnate (Newsoul, #1)Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Release Date: 31st January 2012.

When I initially heard about this book, it was called Erin Incarnate…I think. I’m pretty sure that’s what it was. I had this idea in my head that it would be set in a time familiar to ours and would be a little more dystopian than fantasy. Either way, I needed to read it. And then that amazing cover came out and I was set.

Luckily, HarperCollins offered me the chance to review it and I had to say yes. At first, I was a little surprised at the tone and setting of the novel, but not in a bad way. It started off with a little too much telling, especially about Ana’s mother, Li, but it didn’t deter me. It was once Ana met with Sam that I started to never want to put the book down. Their relationship together was wonderful.

Ana was a lovely character. And I don’t mean lovely as in characteristic, I mean she was refreshingly different. She was defensive, and paranoid, and emotional. I felt sorry for her. It can’t have been easy to be the only one of her kind – a new soul (or nosoul) and getting the reactions she did. Her only saving grace was Sam, but she found it reluctant to fully trust him. It’s not surprising given the conditions she grew up with.

Most of the story focuses on Ana learning about the town of Heart, learning about herself and reincarnation. It was a very interesting concept, but wow did it leave me feeling floundered at the possibilities it produced. For example, if you had a child in one life and then died and got reincarnated, your child would then be older than you. Hard to get my head around! Having everyone know each other was interesting, but also quite convenient too. There was also one scene where children ran past Ana, but they would actually be adult souls so they wouldn’t act like children, right? Which makes me wonder if your soul maybe can’t overpower biological tendencies?

Moving on from that, there were some cool action scenes. If you like dragons, you’ll love this book. There were other cool creatures too, but I loved the dragon aspect. The ending was fast paced and very action packed. You learned a lot of answers to questions Ana had raised.

But the best part of this book? Sam. Mostly, Ana’s relationship with Sam. Whenever they were together, I was engrossed. I didn’t want the book to stop, or the scene. The little touches and the hesitations and the chemistry. Then at the masquerade, their dancing…it was beautiful.

I’d thoroughly recommend this book. It’s a great fantasy/dystopian. The characters (Ana and Sam especially, the others could have done with a little more development) kept the book moving along and I was never bored. There were enough questions raised to keep the mystery but not enough that you were confused. All in all I give this 4.5 out of 5 stars. I’m proud to be an apocalypsie with Jodi Meadows! You can pre-order it on Amazon UK or Amazon US.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “‘Incarnate’ review

  1. I couldn't handle this book. I read the entire book but I struggled through it the entire time. I just felt that there was too much going on with an almighty god/power that be and I just couldn't enjoy this one. I loved the idea, just not the execution.

    I'm glad you really enjoyed it though. 🙂
    Thanks for the great review.

    Like

  2. This is another book that I'm really looking forward to! It's a bit expensive right now, so I might wait for the paperback release, but that cover is just so captivating! Like you, as soon as I saw it, I knew that I needed to read the book.

    The concept of reincarnated souls seems interesting (and hopefully handled better than in the last book I read about reincarnated souls!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

