‘Graffiti Moon’ review

Graffiti MoonGraffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Release Date: 14th February 2012

I wasn’t sure what to think of this before I started reading. All I know is that it was getting some great reviews, so when I was offered the chance to read, I was all for it.

The book alternates from Lucy and Ed’s perspectives. Lucy is a strange art loving girl who has been following the paintings of a graffiti artist called Shadow. She’s in love with him, even though she doesn’t know who he is. Ed is a high school drop out who also loves art. Oh and let’s not forget, he’s Shadow.

The book takes place in the space of one night. It’s the night after the last day of school (for some of the characters) and through a series of events, Lucy and her friends end up hanging out with Ed and his friends. Except to Lucy, Ed isn’t Shadow. He’s the boy she went on a date with and it ended with her breaking his nose when he grabbed her ass. He doesn’t want her to know he’s Shadow, and when they go on a hunt around the city to find Shadow, Lucy and Ed begin to realise there’s more to them than a bad first date.

I have to say, the best thing about this story was the dialogue. The chemistry between the characters. It kind of read like a movie script because it was all about the speech, all about what the characters said to one another than how they said it or what they were doing while they said it. To be honest, the description was lacking. Art pieces were described fully, sometimes, too fully. But otherwise, I’m at a loss as to what most of the characters look like.

It didn’t make me not enjoy the story. I actually very much enjoyed their adventure and how they got to know one another. I liked how their chemistry kept getting stronger and stronger. None of the characters annoyed me, or were unbelievable. Lucy’s best friend was sweet and strange – in a good way.

My only other complaint would be that because it was dual POV, sometimes Crowley repeated the same scene from the other person’s POV and when this happened it wasn’t always an interesting scene so it was kind of boring to read it again. That’s only a small complaint, though.

All in all I rate 4.5 stars out of 5. Definitely read this if you love character driven stories that are more about characters learning about themselves and others than plot and action.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “‘Graffiti Moon’ review

  1. Character driven stories are my favourite so I know I'm gonna love it! I have it on netgalley. Can't wait to wade through this highrise of a tbr pile in front of me and get to it 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

