‘Katana’ review

KatanaKatana by Cole Gibsen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Release Date: March 8th, 2012.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this when I first started reading. And was even more apprehensive because the author is a fellow Apocalypsie and the last thing I wanted was to read their book and not like it. But that was not the case here. From start to finish, I was never bored. Plenty of action and building romance to keep the book going.

Katana was a long book. It did take me quite a while to get through. And the biggest issue I found was that I didn’t really get a sense of urgency out of it. So while I was stopping and starting, there wasn’t a burning question I needed answering to tempt me into picking back up the book. But once I did, I was captivated by the story and the writing.

The main character is a stubborn and strong-willed girl called Rileigh. Her best friend is a quite stereotypical gay boy who is a supportive secondary character, but at the same time, doesn’t add much to the story. I liked him, though. I mostly liked Rileigh, but there were parts of her that irritated me. The whole ‘maybe I should think about that, but actually I won’t’ happened often. Maybe if she had of stopped and considered the information she had, she’d have been happier in the long run.

I thought Kim was a great love interest, even though I didn’t trust him as far as I could throw him. This, though, was a common thought I shared with Rileigh, so perhaps his character was supposed to be that way. I was pretty torn about their relationship, though. I wanted to be on board with it because he was sweet and their training/fighting was pretty hot. On the other hand, though, his feelings weren’t for her – they were for the person she used to be. And her feelings for him were forced onto her by the presence of the person she used to be. I felt like they were slaves to the past, you know?

The twist of who the bad guy was, wasn’t a twist. I’m not sure if it was supposed to be a twist or not because I guessed it from the start.

Mostly, I did enjoy this. The fight scenes were done very well. I loved Rileigh’s arc of learning who she was, and although I didn’t like the other samurai’s much, certainly not enough to care what happened with them, I appreciated their role in the story. The climax of the novel was great too.

All in all, four worthy stars! I look forward to the sequel. A great debut. Pre-order from Amazon..

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “‘Katana’ review

  1. Too bad the Samurai weren't a bigger part of the story, love reading about them. One thing I don't like is when authors use a name like Kim for a boy. I know it's acceptable but I confuse easily when I'm reading books late at night, lol. Thanks for the review:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

