Interview with Megan Miranda!

It’s always a pleasure to host interviews on my blog. Always. It’s even more of a pleasure when it’s an author whose book I really enjoyed and who is a seriously amazing person too. So, without further ado, I give you…MEGAN MIRANDA!

1) For all those who don’t know, or are living under a rock, can you tell us what your novel FRACTURE? is about please? Fracture is about a girl named Delaney who was trapped under the ice of a Maine lake for eleven minutes. Despite brain scans that show wide-spread damage, she wakes from a coma 6-days-later, seemingly fine. But Delaney knows she’s far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can’t control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. But she doesn’t know whether her altered brain is predicting death or causing it…

2) It sounds really interesting! How did you get the idea to write it? I was always drawn to concrete facts, and for that reason, chose to go into the field of Science. But the more I learned, the more I was drawn to the stories that Science still couldn’t explain. The people who were supposed to live, but didn’t. The people who were supposed to die, but lived. For all that science can explain, there is still so much unknown about the brain. I was (and still am) very curious about how much of us is determined by our DNA, or our brain, and how much of us is something more. Writing Fracture was my outlet for all the questions I had been thinking about over the years.

3) Can you tell us what your journey to publishment was like? Though I had written previously, Fracture was my first novel. But I wrote it three times, from scratch, before I got it right. I wrote the first version of Fracture frantically from July-October of 2009, signed with my agent in November 2009, had a good talk with her about what wasn’t working (okay, make that several talks), rewrote, twice, from scratch, and went out on sub in May, 2010. Walker/Bloomsbury pre-empted, and I couldn’t be more thrilled!

4) Read any good books lately? And if so, what? Why did you like them? I’ve read a lot of great books recently! Here are a few 2012 debuts that I’ve recently read that I’m really excited about: UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi, DITCHED by Robin Mellon, and SLIDE by Jill Hathaway – all different types of YA books, but each completely compelling. And I recently read a middle grade, THE MAPMAKER AND THE GHOST, by Sarvenaz Tash, that I can’t wait for my kids to be old enough for.

5) A lot of people are either querying or on sub. Do you have any advice for them as opposed to the ‘don’t give up’ standard advice? Don’t give up is great advice, sure. But I’d throw in a caveat: hear the feedback. From there, my strongest piece of advice would be: do not fear the delete key. (Not that this is advice for someone on sub to publishers…for them, I’d say: do something else, whatever it takes, to keep your mind off being on sub!)

6) Do you have any quirky personality traits? Can you do anything weird or funny? Oh, I’m sure I do. I’m also sure I don’t even realize that I have them. Which probably makes a lot of things I do funny. Awkward-funny, at least.

7) Because I do a Cover of the Week on my blog, tell me a cover that blew you away – except your own fantastic one!
The cover of Imaginary Girls. The colors, the mood, everything. It was stunning, and it was also the perfect cover for the story.

Quick fire questions;
Reality TV or Soaps? Neither. I don’t watch TV (it’s weird, I know!)
Hair up or down? Up (due to laziness).
Dogs or cats? Cats.
Windows or Mac? Windows.

Thanks for having me, Chanelle! Can’t wait to read your debut as well!

FRACTURE is out in the world TODAY, people! Click here to order it from Amazon. Check out my review of the book here too. You can also choose to pick FRACTURE as your prize if you win my giveaway. There’s still time to enter!

One thought on “Interview with Megan Miranda!

Leave a Reply

