‘Imaginary Girls’ review

Imaginary GirlsImaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Release Date: June 14th 2011 – US and the same in the UK!

I devoured this. Devoured it in the hours I should have been sleeping. That’s how much the book sucked me in.

I wasn’t captivated from the first page. The narration and writing of the book comes across as cluttered and confusing at first. Which was why I was a little meh about the beginning chapters or so. There is A LOT of internal monologue. A lot of physical descriptors (which I loved) and a lot of character development narration on Ruby (which sometimes I didn’t love). I’m the kind of person who wants to be in a scene and not swept away from it to think about something different only to go back to that scene once the excitement is over. You know? I found myself craving more dialogue because when it was there, my gosh was it amazing. So realistic and telling. I hated when it was summarised in narration instead of out there for us to read.

So they were my problems. However, I soon got over those problems and fell head over heels for the book. Chloe is a bit of a strange character for me. Sometimes I thought she had her own brain. Other times I didn’t. She lived in her sister’s shadow and even through the two years they were apart, she still lived by what she thought her sister would tell her. She did things that seemed completely out of character for her when we’re led to believe she wants to please her sister. I found that I was craving to know more about Chloe but all we learned about was Ruby.

Ruby, Ruby, Ruby. She was deliciously horrible. I think, actually, she’s probably my all time favourite female character of a book I’ve read in the last few years. Though Suma didn’t go into enough detail about Chloe, she sure did about Ruby. I felt like Ruby was my friend, like I really knew her. I actually found her incredibly realistic. If you could do what she could, I’m sure you’d probably act like her too. I had a beautifully vivid image of her in my head. Like I could reach out and touch her.

To be honest, not much actually happened in the book. There wasn’t a huge plot. No massive action or adventure or scenes of great heart racing tension. There wasn’t even a romance, just a little lust. But I was still captivated. The scenes between Chloe and Ruby were awesome. They were done so well.

I found that a lot of suspense of belief needed to happen in this novel. Chloe didn’t ask nearly enough questions. She wasn’t even told not to. She just nodded, thought it was weird and carried on. I hated that. I really did. There’s not one person who could react like Chloe did at certain events and be sane. Something impossible and unexplainable happens and you shrug it off and go shopping? Ridiculous. It really was. Sometimes this kind of behaviour ruined the book for me.

But…I did very much enjoy it. So I give it 4.5 stars. I recommend to anyone who likes character driven contemporaries with a bit of magic mixed in. Get this from Amazon UK or from Amazon US NOW!

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “‘Imaginary Girls’ review

  1. I loved this book. Given its lack of a central plot or more dialogue or whatnot, I gave it a high rating, too, because there was just *something* about it that made it fantastic.

    (Also–I think this was my favorite cover of any 2011 book.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

