‘Goddess Interrupted’ review

Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test, #2)Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Release Date: March 27th 2012 – US and the same in the UK.

I wasn’t feeling either here or there about The Goddess Test, the first in what I think will be a trilogy. I went into the book thinking it would be something it wasn’t, and because it didn’t reach my expectations, it wasn’t as enjoyable as I wanted. This book, however, I had low expectations for based on the first and, I’m happy to say, the book surpassed all my expectations tenfold!

There’s adventure and action. Kate comes back from her six months away from Henry and the Underworld, ready to take on her role as Queen and Wife but Henry is more distant – if that’s possible – and dealing with an unforeseeable threat that could be the end of them all.

I really enjoyed the chapters where Kate navigated the Underworld to find Henry’s ex wife, Persephone. And I loved watching how Kate dealt with seeing Henry dealing with his lost love while trying to figure out how he felt on his current love. I will say, however, that Kate was infuriating and set back women’s independence about fifty years. Henry ignores her. He doesn’t touch her or include her in his plans/life. When his ex wife comes back, he can’t keep his eyes off her and there’s a situation that happens that I won’t spoil, but my GOD Kate, will you get a backbone?

It’s a whole lot of I love him, but he doesn’t love me like he loves HER and he still wants HER but if I leave him then he’ll fade and I’ll be reminding him of what SHE did. So she stays with him, even though he doesn’t deserve it, even though there’s no evidence whatsoever that he does love Kate, and in the end, she convinces herself that he does indeed love her. But, personally, I don’t see it. I don’t think I’ve ever rooted for a couple to NOT be together as much as Kate and Henry.

Another thing grated me. Persephone is supposed to be as old as Henry (or roundabout as old). But she speaks like Kate. In fact, Persephone has no real character of her own. She says ‘you lot’ all the time, which I wouldn’t expect her language to include being that she’s been dead a while. While I enjoyed the conflict Persephone’s character brought, I’d have liked to have got to know her a bit better and for her to take on a better role than she did.

4 stars. I think it’ll definitely please fans of the first.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

