‘Croak’ review

Croak (Croak, #1)Croak by Gina Damico

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Release Date: March 20th 2012 – US and though it’s not available in the UK yet, you can buy it from Amazon or Book Depo and get it shipped, I’m sure.

For some reason, I thought Croak was about a male MC. I think the character on the front looks like a guy, so maybe that’s why.

Anyway, Croak centres around a girl named Lex who has turned into quite the delinquent much to her own confusion. Her disgruntled parents decide to send her to her uncle’s house for the summer in hopes the hard work on his farm will make her a little more grateful. Turns out, Lex’s uncle isn’t a farmer. He’s a reaper and Lex is one too.

There’s much to love about this book. The back and forth banter between Lex and Diggs was absolutely hilarious. Chock full of tension. Their arguments and their quips were great and I found myself outwardly laughing at some of their lines. Lex is a strange girl. Violent and mouthy, but I couldn’t help but admire her. She’s not a girly girl at all and she’s not afraid to stand up for herself. The characters were one of the best parts of this book and I thoroughly enjoyed reading about them.

Damico’s narrative style was incredibly quirky. It reminded me of a YA version of Lemony Snickett. Croak is written in third person, but feels more like someone telling you a story rather than you reading a story. If that makes sense. There was just enough description and feeling to leave me feeling satisfied, but it did skim on other areas. The style of the book suited this writing method, though, and I feel if it was bogged down with longing and angst and beautiful descriptions, it would be a different kind of novel altogether.

I loved Diggs as a love interest. Loved, loved, loved him. However, I felt the tension and suspense in getting him and Lex to hook up was great, and then when they did we were left with nothing. Their first kiss was missed. Their second kiss was skimmed over. In fact, you have to read between the lines to know what happened. And I wanted romance, dammit! We’d been working up hundreds of pages to it and then…nothing. That was my only problem.

There’s a mystery involved in the story too. A Grim has gone off the rails and is somehow killing random people before their time. Lex and Diggs, and some other very colourful characters, are determined to find out who it was. I did guess from the start, but it was never confirmed until the end. I could see that some people would be surprised.

All in all, a really enjoyable read. Definitely light and filled with humour. If you want something you don’t need to think too hard about, this is your book. It’ll keep you entertained for hours. 5 stars.

View all my reviews

One thought on “‘Croak’ review

Leave a Reply

