‘The Raft’ review

The RaftThe Raft by S.A. Bodeen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a fast moving book. It was full of tension and twists. I got through it in a few hours not only because it had a great pace, but because I was fixated on the story, needing to know how it ended.

Fifteen-year-old Robie lives with her parents on a small island in Hawaii. There’s dodgy internet, only three channels on the TV, and nothing for a girl to do. Her only saving grace is her cool, single aunt who lives on the main land, and Robie can go and stay there whenever. But when a lack of communication leads to Robie boarding a plane back home without anyone knowing, the worst happens. The plane crashes into the sea and Robie is left to survive with nothing but a raft.

It was actually really interesting to read about survival tactics. What kinds of fish you can eat, how to get water when there’s no water around. Robie was very resourceful. A real special kind of girl. There were times she could have just given up and let death take her, but she fought and fought. Very inspiring.

There was a twist I didn’t see coming too, which I won’t spoil, and actually, it explained away what was then my biggest complaint of the story. It all suddenly made sense then! I do wish the sharks would have been a bigger threat, though. Like they were circling the raft rather than what they were actually doing. Sometimes, Robie’s explanations of some of nature (like the birds) was a little much to get through and I found it taking away from the tension. Some of it was helpful to know, but mostly, it was a little distracting.

I did really enjoy this book though. I thought it was done really realistically and I learned a few things about survival too! 4 stars.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “‘The Raft’ review

  1. I've been wanting to read this. Great review! I actually wasn't even aware of the premise, but the way you describe it makes it that much more intriguing!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the review, I'll have to look for it at the library next week:) If you're interested in winning an Easter Basket full of YA books, check out my blog giveaway this week~cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

