‘Dark Kiss’ review

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers, #1)Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great start to what I’m sure will be an exciting and action packed series.

Dark Kiss is about angels, which, ok, is overdone. But there was a fresh twist on this one. Soul sucking demonic things called Grays. I really liked the idea of them, and I wish they could have been developed better. But I look forward to learning more in future books.

Dark Kiss was a fast and exciting read. I was never bored. There was never a dull moment or a place the pacing lagged. It felt like the shortest book but only because something was always happening. It worked really well.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t as impressed with the characters as I was with the pacing and action. I suppose I liked Samantha – the main character – but her internal monologue got a little…repetitive. Sometimes I longed for her to have an interesting thought. It was all a little samey same. I mean, she mentioned shop lifting and using humour to mask the pain of her parent’s divorce about four times in the story. After the second mention, we get it. Also, the word ‘special’ was thrown around so much that I began to wonder if the author was being ironic in the use of it.

I did enjoy the romance. I liked that the love interest, Bishop, was flawed. That he wasn’t safe to be around and wasn’t completely mentally stable either. He had dimensions, and he was still pretty nice to read about (and on the eye too). The chemistry between he and Samantha was sizzling.

And then there was the brother. The bad one. The whole triangle reminded me a lot of Vampire Diaries – the TV show, not the book – especially with the banter, Kraven’s general demeanour was very Damon and the bickering between the brothers. I imagine the sequel will have Sam start to fall for Kraven too.

Overall, I did enjoy. I’d recommend to those wanting a light supernatural read. 4 stars.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “‘Dark Kiss’ review

Leave a Reply

