‘Throne of Glass’ review

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am slowly being swayed to the fantasy side.

With books like this, Shadow and Bone and Girl of Fire and Thorn, I’m loving this genre more and more. The adventure and the world building and the kick-ass female characters who can do some serious damage. Fantastic!!

Throne of Glass starts off well and ends well. Just what I like in a book. An Assassin is given the opportunity to compete in a competition to become the King’s Champion. If she wins, she’ll work for him for four years and gain her freedom. If she doesn’t, she’ll either die trying or be relegated back to the mines she was hauled from. But Caelena is determined to win and with a reputation that proceeds her, she knows no one is a match. She doesn’t count on coming to like the castle and the people in it, and she definitely doesn’t count on someone using old magics to kill the other competitors.

Caelena is a strange character. At times she is crude, mean, bitter and hard. And at other times she is youthful, naive, sweet and kind. But I loved her. I loved the banter between her and the Prince and the Captain. I loved how determined she was and the way she pushed through her training and Tests. And I loved that she didn’t act like a damsel in distress.

There was a hint of ‘whodunnit’ in this book. Who was killing the other competitors and why. You think you know who did it and then you don’t. The book is described very well and I was never left confused as to what was happening and who anyone was. And while the book was very long, it read quickly and left me wanting more.

I felt the end was a bit rushed in terms of some of the decisions Caelena made, but it makes me all the more determined to read the sequel (there better be one). And for the record, I’m team Dorian.

5 stars for sure. Fans of the books mentioned above will love this. It’ll also appeal to fans of Divergent who enjoyed the tests and training parts of the book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

