‘Nobody But Us’ review

Nobody But UsNobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bonnie and Clyde, eat your heart out.

I really enjoyed this one. It was one of those books where if I wasn’t reading about it, I was thinking about it. It had this raw innocence to it, this kind of realistic, heartfelt need. And I was sucked right into it. I craved it, more and more.

It’s a simple plot. Boy meets girl. Boy wants to save girl. Boy and girl run away together. Cue wacky drama. But what’s different about this book are the characters.

Will has just turned eighteen. He never met his dad and was given to the state by his Mum, but no one could adopt him because she disappeared. He’s spent most of his life in care and fighting both physically and mentally to survive. When he meets Zoe, he knows he wants to save her and so together they run away to Vegas.

Zoe is fifteen. Her dad beats her up. She doesn’t have a back bone and is too responsible for her own good. She thinks Will can save her.

Separately, they’re an annoying couple of characters. Will is one angry kid. He is quite demanding and condesending and he makes the stupidest choices ever. I mean, how did he think running away with a fifteen year old would work? He couldn’t wait a few years? And Zoe? Well, she acts like she’s about 10, doesn’t stand up for herself, is a bit of a tease and also makes really bad choices.

And yet, and yet I loved them. I wanted them to be happy and end up together. I wanted a happy ending for them. I winced as they made mistake after mistake after mistake, but I enjoyed their roadtrip almost as much as they did.

Wasn’t a fan of the ending. I thought it was quite rushed and emotionless. I also thought that Zoe’s inner monologue was quite different from the way she was described in Will’s POV.

4.5 stars. Because this grabbed my attention from the start and I never wanted to let go.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

