‘The Elite’ review

The Elite (The Selection, #2)The Elite by Kiera Cass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s been a while since I read The Selection, so it was a little hard to get into The Elite. I couldn’t remember most of the characters or details of what had happened in the first book, but I remembered the gist.

This is one of those frustrating books that you read because you have to. I HAD to know who America would choose and I have my clear favourite: Maxon. I wanted her to choose him and I was so, so annoyed when she would go back and forth between he and Aspen. In fact, the sheer amount of back and forthing made me really hate America. She was petulant, and whiny and stubborn and she made stupid decisions all because she couldn’t ASK!!

I think I might like her more in the third book, as I started to warm to her again towards the end. I find myself liking her when she’s being warm with Maxon and to her maids, but that’s it.

I did like this book, although it was very much a set up for the next one. The next one will feature resistance and sabotage from the King and that’s quite exciting. In a horrible way, I’m glad America will have to face this. It might make her more grateful for the amazing experience she had been given instead of complaining about it.

But I tore through this book. Much like I remembered in the first. While nothing really happens, plot wise, and the characters aren’t massively simulating, this book attracts my wishful side and it’s entertainment factor is incredibly high.

4 stars.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

