Primers – over and underrated

Hello!

Apologies it’s been a while since I last posted, but I’m going on holiday next Saturday and preparing for that and stuff at work has meant I’ve hardly had time to post!

But here I am and with a post about…you guessed it, primers.

I’m someone who suffers from very oily skin. It seems to have got worse with age rather than better and by about lunch time, my skin is drenched. I have to blot, powder and touch up my face constantly throughout the day so it’s really important I have a primer that withstands all of that.

I’ve tried dozens of primers. Probably more. Some have been good and others have been pointless. I’m going to talk about a few that have worked for me and some that haven’t.

5025970023281_t2The first on my list is the cult product: Nivea Men Post Shave Balm. This isn’t supposed to be a primer. It’s clearly advertised for men. But someone tried it as a primer and found it worked really well. It’s what I’m using now as a primer and I love it. It keeps my makeup on all day and I barely have to retouch anything (even through all my blotting). It’s a thin substance and has quite a male scent to it, but it’s easily hidden beneath other products. The price is fantastic too. 4/5 stars.

slide_396140_4861984_free

Next is the Smashbox Photo Finish primer. Costly and I really wanted to love this but alas it just didn’t do anything for me. It’s supposed to help with oily skin and keep your foundation looking fresher for longer. Also the added bonus that it’s supposed to make makeup look flawless on camera. I didn’t notice any of this and actually I don’t believe it works any better or worse than a drugstore primer. It might work better on someone with normal/dry skin but it’s not great if you suffer from oil overload. 2.5/5 stars.

cos3c_1

I’m 50/50 on the Studio Secrets Magique. On the one hand, it really did shrink my pores and created a great base to work with. But it didn’t keep my makeup all day the way the Nivea primer does. It’s pretty expensive for a drugstore make too, but one of the best things L’oreal have created in a long time. It’s a beautiful texture and incredibly light on the skin too. 3/5 stars.

6843251_320x385

Neutrogena Shine Control was a complete random find. I was actually recommended this product on a blog and they gushed so much about it that I had to try. I got this from eBay at £13.95 which is quite expensive for a drugstore brand but it’s not one you can find in Boots or Superdrug easily so I was happy to pay it. It’s a nice primer. I like mixing it with the Nivea primer. The texture is like a mixture between powder and liquid but sinks in really easily. It definitely blots oil right from the start but it wears off easily (that or my supersonic oil bursts through). I tend to use this on my t-zone area as it can be drying otherwise. 3.5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Primers – over and underrated

Leave a Reply

